NROTW: twenty one pilots, ‘Blurryface’

Justin Music Leave a Comment

Without naming any names, it seems today like so many artists end up stagnating by churning out albums that are nearly indistinguishable from one another. Others fall prey to wild experimentation that alienates a fan base. For me, this is why twenty one pilots’ new album Blurryface (out as of yesterday) is so unusual in its ability to strike such a beautiful harmony between innovation and consistency with the duo’s style.

Blurryface is also unusual for the sheer range of musical styles—which span from reggae-inspired beats on “Ride,” “Polarize” and “Message Man” to fast-paced ukulele jams on “We Don’t Believe What’s On TV” to the moodier “Goner” to tracks like “Not Today” that will surely hit the upbeat indie playlists on the likes of Spotify.

The album strikes uncommon chords through a fairly lengthy 14 tracks, so give it a listen and you’re almost sure to find something you’ll enjoy.


  1. Heavydirtysoul
  2. Stressed Out
  3. Ride
  4. Fairly Local
  5. Tear In My Heart
  6. Lane Boy
  7. The Judge
  8. Doubt
  9. Polarize
  10. We Don’t Believe What’s On TV
  11. Message Man
  12. Hometown
  13. Not Today
  14. Goner